Cake flour substitute

Like buttermilk, cake flour is another ingredient I never have when I want it. When I first started baking, it was something I could never find at the grocery store and so was utterly thrilled when I thought to google “cake flour substitute” and found a solution! *happy dance* Now, please don’t think I’ve secretly been using all-purpose flour instead of cake flour all this time, I’ve been using this substitution for a while now and just now thought to actually share it with you. How else to attain light and airy cake? But, since you’re all smart individuals, I’m sure you’ve already found this substitution on Joy’s site or about.com. Either way, I’m happy to share it with you today! 🙂

What you need:

  • All-Purpose flour (just under one cup)
  • 2 Tbsp. cornstarch

What to do:

  1. Place two tablespoons of cornstarch in a one-cup measure.
  2. Fill the rest of the cup with all-purpose flour.
  3. Use in place of the cake flour in any recipe.

Leave a comment