Strawberry balsamic jam

My grandma made the best guava jelly – it makes me sad I didn’t learn from her before she passed. So, I decided I would learn. It was on my list for the summer but I didn’t get around to it until this past weekend. Yep, after the season for fresh fruit. Oh well, there’s always next year. And, I didn’t do that second half of the process where you actually seal the jar to preserve the jam; technically this isn’t qualified as “fruit preserves” like I categorized it. But, it would be if I finished the process. I’m going to look into that second half, promise. So, jam. Jam is a start to my goal of jelly. It’s not quite jelly but it’s a close relative! This jam recipe is quite the show-stealer.

I assure you, there is another bread post coming tomorrow. I just felt this one had to come first, I didn’t want to overwhelm you with too much bread all at once. Then, you’d realize how bread crazy we went this past weekend. Who am I kidding? You all already know we’re bread crazy over here. Anyways, when you have bread, you need a great jam or jelly to go with it!

This jam is thick and sweet. The balsamic vinegar complements and adds a depth to the sweetness of the strawberries in an unexpected way. When I first read the title of the original post, I was a little hesitant; but, decided to forge ahead. If Kristin over at Pastry Affair made it, it was bound to be good. Pastry Affair is a new regular in my blogosphere – great recipes, amazing pictures, entertaining posts. I’m in. Please go check out her stuff, it’s good; you won’t be sorry! This recipe I have below is hers, I didn’t change a thing. Though, I might try some variations next time. So, try this one out – it’s super easy to make. Have fun!

Strawberry balsamic jam

YUM! More than half of this is gone already, more than the picture shows!

Strawberry balsamic jam on toast

M’s bfast!

What you need:
1 pound (16 ounces) fresh or frozen strawberries, diced
3-4 tablespoons granulated sugar (adjust according to sweetness of the berries)
2+ tablespoons balsamic vinegar (to taste)

What to do:
In a saucepan over medium heat, bring strawberries, sugar, and balsamic vinegar to a boil. Turn down the heat and simmer for 25-30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until strawberries have thickened into a jam.

To store, keep chilled in the refrigerator.

One response to “Strawberry balsamic jam

  1. Pingback: Strawberry honey oatmeal bars | C'est la vie·

Leave a Reply

