Cream soda bread

I made bread this past weekend, what did you do? I hope you did something more exciting than making bread. 🙂 There was a recipe for honey beer bread floating around on Pinterest that I just had to try – it sounded delicious! The weekend came and it was finally time to try the recipe. There was one problem: I didn’t have any beer on hand and didn’t really feel like making another trip to the grocery store just for some beer. Solution? Cream soda. I had just bought 6 cans of cream soda for a different recipe (that I didn’t end up making this past weekend), why not use a can for some bread? Well, I didn’t hear of anyone ever making bread with soda before (I’m pretty sure a google search would tell me someone has), so why not experiment? With the carbonation in the soda, I was sure it would have the same dense texture as beer bread. Plus, this bread was bound to be on the sweeter side because of all the sugar in the soda. So, I adapted the original recipe to the one you see below. I cut out the sugar and the honey because it felt like overload but left everything else as is. Cream soda bread was born!

This is a slightly sweet, dense bread. Hearty – it makes for a great breakfast with some jam over the top. YUM. Plus, all that butter makes for a delicious crumb. You can taste all the buttery richness that absorbed into the crust while it was baking. It was great. It’s best when you warm it up a little before eating. When it’s warm, you get more of the original moistness and flavor. If you’re a regular reader, you know how M loves his homemade bread. Don’t worry, the Maori bread is still his favorite. Although he enjoyed the sweetness of this bread, he still prefers yeast breads. Sigh. I thought I was going to get close to replacing Maori at first place….not even close. But closer. The Maori bread has been on the top of his bread list for so long that I can’t help but feel the challenge there – I have to find and make a bread better than the Maori bread!

Anyways, this experiment turned out to be one of the best “why not?” moments I’ve had in a while. It was quite rewarding and left me wanting to try more experiments! So, I challenge you: take a risk, try something new; even if you’re not sure if it’ll end up quite how you expected. This goes for everything you do in life. We wouldn’t move forward in our lives if we didn’t try new things once in a while. 🙂 Have fun and enjoy!

Cream soda bread

Yum. I wish I could share some with you through the computer screen!

Cream soda bread sliced

Mmm. I love sweet breads.

What you need:
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 (12oz) can cream soda (I used BlueSky Natural Cream Soda)
1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

What to do:
Preheat over to 350F. Grease a 9″x5″x3″ loaf pan. Line the bottom of the pan with parchment paper. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.

Using a wooden spoon, stir the soda into the dry ingredients until just mixed.

Pour half the melted butter into the loaf pan. Then spoon the batter into the pan, and pour the rest of the butter on top of the batter. Use a pastry brush to spread it around.

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes, until top is golden brown and a toothpick/knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

