Chocolate cake, crock pot style

I tried very hard to capture the wonderful texture of this cake in a single picture; I’m afraid I didn’t do it justice. This cake had a texture that was similar to bread pudding. Think bread pudding but not as much custard texture. It was great. Plus, it was really, really easy to make! Seriously, mix all the ingredients together, throw it into a crock pot and forget about it for 3 hours! Ah-mazing. This cake was a tease – the smell of chocolate cake wafting from the pot was very hard to ignore. It made my coworkers hate me because I made the whole office smell like chocolate cake! Yep, I did it – I brought it to work so we could enjoy it as dessert after lunch! I have to tell ya, it went very well with caramel syrup drizzled over the top! The recipe I have for you below is adapted from the original on allrecipes.com. I hate using oil in my baked goods and try to substitute as often as I can. I used apple sauce instead of oil. I would love to try this with coconut oil though! This might also be tasty with chocolate chips throughout the batter! Have fun and enjoy – let me know if you try any alterations!

Crock pot chocolate cake

Yum.

What you need:
2 cups white sugar
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup skim milk
1/2 cup apple sauce
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup boiling water

What to do:

  1. Spray crock of a large slow cooker with cooking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt. In a separate small bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, applesauce and vanilla until well combined. Whisk in the boiling water. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix well.
  3. Pour the cake batter into the prepared slow cooker.
  4. Set slow cooker to “Low”. Cook until cake has no wet spots on top and has pulled away from the sides of the crock, about 3 hours. Turn off slow cooker and allow cake to rest for 30 minutes before serving.
Leave a Reply

