Creamy veggie pasta

YUM. I can’t wait to make this again. Seriously. Thank you, Kristin at GoBoldWithButter.com for this amazing original! Kristin’s blog is Iowa Girl Eats – I’ve actually visited and bookmarked several of her recipes on her blog before I found this one on goboldwithbutter.com! Go check out her stuff – if this recipe was any indication of how great her recipes are, I can’t wait to try more!

I didn’t have the exact veggies she used in her original recipe so I just substituted with what I had and wanted to add. I ended up with a pasta that had a ton of yummy veggies! Kristin also originally used 1/3 cup  half and half and 2 tablespoons of parmesan cheese; I only had heavy cream so I used 1/4 cup heavy cream and wanted more cheese so I used 3 tablespoons.

The sauce was as creamy and delicious as expected but not so rich that I couldn’t finish a whole bowl. I love the small bit of heat the red pepper flakes add – next time I might just add a tad bit more! Another thing I absolutely loved about this – almost all the veggies I used were from the local Farmers’ Market!! Just gotta love it. So, try this out and don’t hesitate to add your favorite veggies and take out some of the ones you don’t like. 🙂 Enjoy!

YUM!

What you need:
4 ounces uncooked short pasta, like penne, or rotini
3 tablespoons butter
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, chopped
1/4 teaspoon red chili pepper flakes
1 cup broccoli florets
1 cup green beans
1/2 yellow bell pepper
1 zucchini, sliced
1 cup mushrooms, sliced
1 cup corn kernels (fresh or frozen-then-thawed)
1/4 cup heavy cream
3 tablespoons Parmesan cheese, grated
1/2 cup packed basil, sliced thin, divided
PDS

What to do:
Cook pasta in boiling salted water according to directions until al dente. Drain and set aside.

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic, onions, and red chili pepper flakes, then sauté until onions are tender and garlic is golden brown, about 3 minutes. Add broccoli, green beans, mushrooms and zucchini, season with PDS, then sauté until vegetables are crisp tender (and you’ve cooked most of the mushroom liquid off), about 6 minutes. Add corn, then sauté until heated through, about 2 minutes.

Add heavy cream and Parmesan cheese to the skillet, then cook until thickened slightly, about 1 minute. Add in cooked pasta and half the basil, then toss to combine. Taste, adding more PDS if necessary, then serve topped with remaining basil.

2 responses to “Creamy veggie pasta

Leave a Reply

