Oatmeal Craisin bars

This was amazing. It had great texture and the bright bits of dried cranberries went perfectly. Mmmm. I adapted this from the original found at Martha Stewart’s site. Her original only made an 8×8 pan and used raisins. I do like raisins…but I LOVE craisins and will usually substitute craisins when possible! Plus, I wanted to make this to send with Emi’s birthday present. And I wanted some for myself. 🙂 But really, I figured bars would hold up well during shipping. She didn’t mention they fell apart, so I assume it made it there just fine! Haha. Point is, I made more by doubling Martha’s recipe. Worked like a charm. Though, her pictures of her bars look more cookie-like than mine were….small detail. My bars were still quite tasty! It was a lot easier than I expected and the taste was totally worth it. Plus, M loved them! I might go back and try them with various dried fruit just to see how it would turn out. Let me know if you try anything different! Have fun!

Mmmmm!

What you need
3 sticks unsalted butter, melted, plus more for pan
1 1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 large egg
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 cup all-purpose flour, (spooned and leveled)
4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (not quick-cooking)
2 cup craisins

What to do

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter an 9X13-inch baking pan. Line bottom with parchment paper, leaving an overhang on two sides; butter paper.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together butter, sugars, egg, salt, and cinnamon until smooth. Add flour, oats, and raisins; fold in just until combined.
  3. Spread batter in prepared pan, and bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out with moist crumbs attached, 25 to 30 minutes. Cool completely in pan. Using paper overhang, lift cake onto a work surface; cut into 16 bars.

To store, keep in an airtight container at room temperature, up to 3 days.

5 responses to “Oatmeal Craisin bars

  1. Pingback: A meaningful birthday gift | C'est la vie·

Leave a Reply

