Southwest Chicken Skillet

I’m sorry I missed my post on Friday. Things got a little hectic over here last week. But, we’re going to try to get back on schedule this week! So without further ado…
M loves Mexican food. Sadly, I don’t share this obsession with him – not because I won’t eat it, but because I simply didn’t grow up with the genre of food (we don’t have very many Mexican eateries at home). I was never “taught” how to love it and I definitely don’t crave it the way he does. So, I’m slowly trying to learn now. This recipe was a step in that direction. It caught my attention when we were making breakfast pizza one weekend because it was on the back of the Kraft bag of cheese. The original uses beef, but we used chicken breast instead (healthier!). I wasn’t thrilled with this recipe. If we make it again, we’ll definitely add more to it and change it around a bit. But, M also says he has a recipe for something similar to it that we’ll have to try (he thinks it’s better). So, I’ll keep ya posted! ūüėČ

MMMM, cheese!

Yum? Really, it was okay.

Ingredients
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 can (14-1/2 oz.) chicken broth
1 can (10 oz.) diced tomatoes and green chiles, undrained
1 each large green and yellow pepper, cut into thin strips, then halved
2 cups instant white rice, uncooked
1-1/2 cups KRAFT Shredded Colby & Monterey Jack Cheeses
Instructions
  1. Brown meat in large ovenproof skillet. Stir in broth and tomatoes; bring to boil.
  2. Add¬†peppers and rice; stir. Cover; simmer on low heat 5 min. or until rice is tender. *Note: be sure to boil off excess liquid, or you’ll have a mushy casserole!
  3. Heat broiler. Top rice mixture with cheese; broil 2 to 3 min. or until melted.
Leave a Reply

