Strawberry-orange brightness

I wanted to bake something but I was feeling a bit lazy. Hello, strawberry cake mix! While I do love baking from scratch the majority of the time, I also just love baking. Besides, I wanted to add my own twist to this mix! And, baking is also a stress-reliever for me. So, when I’ve had a rough day, baking can usually fix things. This cake mix was perfect!

cake mix re-vamped!

All mixes call for the usual eggs, oil and water. Well, instead of water, I added orange juice. I also added some orange zest to give it more brightness and orange-flavor. And the frosting? Originally, I wanted to make an orange cream frosting. Well, Sol hinted that strawberry cream cheese frosting would probably be best. Sigh, strawberry cream cheese frosting it was.

Strawberry orange = YUM

Strawberry-orange cupcakes with strawberry cream cheese frosting
Makes 24 cupcakes
1 box Pilsbury strawberry cake mix
1 cup orange juice
1/3 cup oil
3 eggs
zest from 1 orange

1 8oz package of cream cheese, room temperature
1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
5 frozen strawberries, defrosted
powdered sugar (around 4 cups)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line pan with cupcake liners.
  2. Prepare cake mix as directed by the box, but substitute orange juice for the water. Add orange zest.
  3. Bake for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean.
  4. While the cupcakes are baking, make the frosting; frost when cupcakes are cool.

Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Cream butter and cream cheese.
  2. While the butter and cream cheese are mixing, purée defrosted strawberries in a blender or food processor.
  3. Add puréed strawberries to cream cheese mixture, add only enough to give it that strawberry flavor. You can always add more later if you can’t taste enough of the strawberry!
  4. Add powdered sugar to mixture. Add until you have the consistency of frosting you desire – around 4 cups.
  5. Taste. Tastes good? Then frost!

These were a pretty quick and easy treat! I hope you enjoy! I might try lemon zest instead of orange next time. 😉

Leave a Reply

