Beer Bread

I’ve been trying to expand my baking skill set to include bread – it’s not something I’ve baked often. I can’t even say my mom used to make a lot of homemade breads like some other moms did. She did have a bread machine…but somehow, I think that’s cheating just a little bit (even though they really make the whole process so much easier). Sol’s grandma used to make a lot of homemade bread – perhaps this is why he loves bread so much? I didn’t realize before how much he absolutely adores fresh bread. He doesn’t have a sweet tooth (or should I say “didn’t” since he’s now developing one?) so he never really asks for any of the cookies or cupcakes I’ve made. Sol will definitely ask for bread. It doesn’t help that he’ll usually ask with that sad puppy look or that when he talks about fresh bread his eyes light up. Hah, he’s different all right. Anyways, I just can’t resist. He’s been asking for beer bread specifically for a couple months now. So, it was time for some research. It didn’t take much time to find Susan’s beer bread recipe on Farmgirlfare.com – you should check her site out, I’ve loved reading through her stories and recipes! She said it was easy and I didn’t believe her – bread isn’t easy! Beer bread is easy. Trust me. It is one of the simplest things I’ve ever made! I love that you can experiment with different beers and different flavorings! Thanks for this recipe Susan!

Beertastic

Basic Beer Bread Mix:
3 cups organic all-purpose flour
1 Tablespoon granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder (make sure it’s fresh!)
1 teaspoon salt

Desired additional flavorings
12 ounces beer

Optional glaze: 1 egg & 2 teaspoons water, beaten

(The glaze gives the top of the bread a gorgeous golden coloring.)

Susan has some flavor variations listed on her recipe – we tried plain and the Garlic and Herb flavoring listed below:

Garlic & Herb: Add 1 teaspoon dried rosemary, 1 teaspoon dried oregano, 1 teaspoon dried thyme, and 2 minced garlic cloves (or 1 teaspoon garlic flakes) to the basic mix. For fresh herbs, use 1 chopped Tablespoon of each.

Instructions:

  1. Heat the oven to 375°. Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt (plus any additional flavorings) in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Slowly stir in the beer and mix just until combined (I suggest a fork). The batter will be thick.
  3. Spread in a greased 8-inch loaf pan, brush with the egg glaze if desired, and bake until golden brown and a toothpick stuck in the center comes out clean, about 45 minutes.
  4. Cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from the pan and cool 10 more minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

The Garlic and Herb was AMAZING! My friend Steph recommended using a pale ale or a lager since the darker/heavier beers will produce a heavier/denser bread. The first time I tried the recipe, I used an IPA – unless you love IPAs and the taste of hops, stay clear of those – the hops was a kicker in that loaf! Sol and I tried again with the generic Coors Banquet – that was a hit!

So, for rule of thumb, pick a beer you like. Have fun and be creative with your flavorings!

6 responses to “Beer Bread

  1. I made beer bread the other day and while it didn’t look as awesome as yours, I would recommend trying a tablespoon of mustard in it – it really brings out the flavour of the beer 🙂

    • That sounds yummy! I will definitely try it, thanks for the suggestion! 🙂 Any specific type of mustard? And besides, all that really matters is the taste!!

Leave a Reply

