Can’t-believe-it’s-not-fried! Baked Chicken

I love baked chicken. I’m sure you all know this by now (with the previous posts and all). Baking chicken is such a great alternative because it doesn’t include all that grease and fat. Now, I have my standard baked chicken (which is a family secret that I can’t really share, sorry) but this chicken is a great find! It’s not as healthy as other baked chicken recipes but if you’re itching for the taste of some fried chicken but don’t want to walk down guilty lane, it’s perfect! Thank you, Betty Crocker, for this amazing baked chicken recipe! Now, I couldn’t quite make it through the original recipe without making some changes; so, my changes will be made in the brackets. Enjoy this spectacularly easy meal!

Can't-believe-it's-not-fried Baked Chicken

Can’t-believe-it’s-not-fried Baked Chicken

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon butter or margarine
  • 2/3 cup Original Bisquick® mix [I used the Heart Healthy Bisquick and it was just fine!]
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt [Instead of the standard salt and pepper listed here, I used 2 1/2 teaspoons of Paula Deen’s house seasoning, a recipe I first used in my beef stroganoff post]
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 cut-up whole chicken (3 to 3 1/2 pounds) [I first used drumsticks and then made it again with bone-in, skinless chicken thighs]

House Seasoning

  • 1 cup salt
  • 1/4 cup black pepper
  • 1/4 cup garlic powder

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 425°F. Melt butter in rectangular baking dish, 13x9x2 inches, in oven.
  2. Stir together Bisquick, paprika, salt and pepper; coat chicken. Place skin sides down in dish (dish and butter should be hot).
  3. Bake 35 minutes; turn chicken. Bake about 15 minutes longer or until juice is no longer pink when centers of thickest pieces are cut.
Leave a Reply

