Panko Baked Chicken

No worries! I have not disappeared again! I’ve just been trying all these new things so that I would have something to blog about. For this meal, I was inspired by Kat’s Crispy Chicken Skewers (you should check out her blog – she cooks, he eats!). But, that night, I did not feel like going through the trouble of putting chicken on skewers (I was starving and wanted to eat as fast as possible). So, I just altered her Crispy Chicken Skewers a little and didn’t use the skewers.

I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts because I think chicken thighs come out a bit moister than chicken breasts do (I usually clean the chicken and cut off as much of the fat as possible to make it healthier).

chicken! fat free honey mustard dressing drizzled on top.

Ingredients

  • Chicken thighs
  • 3 Egg whites lightly beaten (This adaption also makes it a bit healthier)
  • Panko
  • Flour
  • Paula’s House Seasoning (used in Beef Stroganoff recipe)

House Seasoning

  • 1 cup salt
  • 1/4 cup black pepper
  • 1/4 cup garlic powder

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Farenheit
  2. Prep chicken – clean off fat, cut into pieces if desired.
  3. Season chicken with House seasoning. (Kat seasons her chicken with salt, pepper and Lawry’s Season-All) *I’d season lightly at this step if you’re planning to put seasoning in the breading.
  4. Mix breading – panko, flour and seasoning. I used a 2:1 panko-flour ratio. Add as much or as little seasoning as you would like.
  5. Set up your assembly line – 3 egg whites in one bowl, breading in another and baking sheets.
  6. Dip chicken in egg whites, then breading and place on baking sheet. I lined my baking sheets with foil but I think parchment paper like Kat used would work better.
  7. Spray chicken with non-stick cooking spray or spritz with olive oil.
  8. Bake for 15 minutes, flip over and bake for another 15 minutes.
  9. I drizzled fat-free honey mustard dressing over my chicken but feel free to use your choice of condiment! Enjoy!
4 responses to “Panko Baked Chicken

  1. Thanks so much for sharing, that looks absolutely delicious! The parchment paper works great, but you can also use one of those wire racks. Thanks for sharing Paula’s house seasoning mix, I love Paula Deen! 🙂

    • Thanks Kat! I’ll try either the parchment paper of the wire racks next time! And, you’re welcome! I love her too!

  2. Wonderful recipe! I bought some Panko breadcrumbs and now I can cook some delicious chicken with it. I think it is better to cook in the oven rather than deep frying…>more healthy..>less messy…Thanks!!!!!!
    : )

    • Thanks! Let me know how it turns out! I definitely agree, it’s a whole lot healthier and easier to cook in the oven instead of frying!

Leave a Reply

