Home stretch to becoming a real person

Hi gang, sorry for my long hiatus in my posts – I’ve been a bit busy. Anyway, it’s June! June sure snuck up on me. I didn’t really expect June to come this quickly. With the beginning of June comes the long awaited home stretch, the count down to my move to Colorado (16 days). I’ve been talking about moving for years and the time is finally approaching (I’m so sorry to those of you who have listened to me rant and rave about Colorado and my move all this time)! I’m excited! I’m also a bit nervous. Omaha has been my Homaha for the last 5 years. FIVE YEARS. Geez, that’s sure a long time! It was enough time for me to settle down a bit and become familiar and comfortable here. I’ve made a ton of friends and have added many people to my extended family. And, as excited as I am to go, I’m also sad to leave everyone behind. After my move, I’ll be a real person (FINALLY), right? I sure hope so. As real as I can get anyways. I’m horrible at goodbyes, it’s not one of my strong points. So please keep this in mind when I’m saying goodbye to you.

It’s slowly hitting me that I’ll be leaving soon. Actually, it’s probably my empty closet, bookshelf and kitchen…and the stack of boxes that are building higher each day. I’m starting to panic that I won’t have enough time to pack up all my stuff before I leave with my travel plans smack dab in the middle of my time left. I know this is unrealistic and that I will surely pack everything up in time, but I’m still nervous.

So off I go, to pack more boxes so that I can make my way to finally becoming a real person. Call me or text me so we can get together before I drive off! I’m trying to see all my friends before I leave but time is growing short! Wish me luck!

Also, welcome home to the JM&C backpack group that went to Uganda! Check out their amazing stories on their blog!

Leave a Reply

