Watch out world!

I got an envelope from my sister today. It contained her senior picture, two senior prom pictures, her graduation announcement and invitation to her graduation party. Graduation. My kid sister is graduating from high school. I almost can’t believe it, where did the time go? I don’t think the world is ready for her just yet. How could it be? She’s graduating as a valedictorian, with a full ride scholarship to Texas Christian University, a Citizenship Award from the Star Advertiser (our newspaper) and Hawaii Hotel Association for her contributions to our community and high school and a scholarship from the Rotary. And, as far as I know, there are more coming. The world won’t know who hit it. I am so proud of her. So, so proud.

We didn’t always get along – we fought often as we were growing up. But I guess it’s true when they say that distance makes the heart fonder – when I moved away for college and she started high school, the five year gap between us evened out and we became friends and better sisters.

She’s five years younger than I am and outshines me in almost every way. I am so happy that she does. I think she’s always struggled with being the youngest, trying to accomplish more and beat me at all our common activities. This I am okay with. When we were younger, she always tried to do the same things I did, eat the same foods; she tried to be me. That I was not okay with. I wanted her to be her and to be more than I ever was. Look at her now!

She let me read her essay for the TCU scholarship while I was home last winter. It was humbling and touching – she wrote about me. It made me cry. It was about my struggles with my major and following your heart. She was there for all the fights I had with my parents, for the arguments my parents had about my decisions while I was away at school; but most of all, she was there for me. Her essay said she learned from my struggles through college. I hope she’ll always learn from my struggles so that she won’t have to struggle as hard when it’s her turn (even though I know she’ll have her fair share).

Emi, I hope you always follow your heart and reach for the stars. I’m so proud of you.

Leave a Reply

