Take Pride

Pride. My mom always tells me to take pride in what I do, to give everything 110%. This is something I’ve taken to heart and try to apply to every aspect of my life. When I joined Weight Watchers, it wasn’t for anyone but myself. I wanted to look good for me – I was sick of looking and feeling the way I did. Why did it take me so long to apply my mantra to this aspect of my life when I already worked so hard to apply it to all the other parts of my life? I have no idea. Once I decided to take pride in myself, I was off and running (literally). This March will mark my second anniversary with Weight Watchers and I couldn’t be happier – I’ve lost over 30 pounds and halved my pants size (at least). I think I’m healthier than I’ve ever been in my life. Healthier AND happier.

After coming all this way, it frustrates me when I hear someone say: “I’m happy I’m with (insert name of significant other here) – (Name of significant other) loves me for who I am and doesn’t care what I look like.” Well, I’m sure your significant other DOES love you for who you are but that doesn’t mean he or she doesn’t want you to be the best you can be. I believe you should take pride in how you look. You should take pride in how you look when you’re with your significant other. You should want your significant other to be proud of how you look. I believe you should work on all aspects of your life so that you’re always trying to be the best you can be. You deserve only the best. Eat healthy, exercise, be happy. Take pride in yourself. When you feel better about yourself it will show.

So, stop making excuses. With the nice weather right around the corner, start treating yourself the way you deserve. It all starts with baby steps. Remember, take pride in yourself!

Leave a Reply

