Try #2

I wanted to title this “FAIL” since I did not post this last week like I was supposed to, but it would’ve clashed with what I wanted to write about. So, here we go: try #2 with the post a week.

My goal for this upcoming week is to be more positive. It is something that I have been struggling with these past 10 days. Throughout my life, I’ve always set very high goals for myself. Therefore, my harshest critic is – and always will be – myself. I’ve been trying to wrap my mind around the teaching part of my job – it’s something I’ve never thought I’d ever do in my lifetime. What makes it particularly hard is that I only teach once a week, two different sections. For the past two Fridays, I’ve felt like I’ve been doing a horrible job – the first section always gets the short stick. It always seems like they are the guinea pigs of the day and by the time the second class comes walking through the door, I have my lecture down and things flow a little smoother. I usually leave the lab on Fridays feeling like I’ve let that first class down. This week, I will try not to be so harsh on myself. I will try my very best to give the same GOOD lecture twice instead of once.

Sometimes, unexpected things happen in your life and you’re left scrambling to find what’s up and what’s down. What I’ve slowly been learning (the hard way) is that you have to be positive; you have to want what you have and try your best no matter what. This is what I’m going to try this week. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

