lessons on sleep

You would think that by this time in my college career, being a fifth year senior and all, that I would know enough about my sleep patterns to know that if there’s a choice between sleeping for an hour or staying awake, I should just stay awake. It has been proven, time and time again – EVERY SINGLE TIME – that if I go to sleep for an hour, I will not wake up in the morning. This usually involves me being late for my open shift at work. Every. Single. Time.

I think I choose to sleep for that hour (or two) because it has been proven that some sleep is better than none at all. So what wins the toss up? Sleep or being on time to work? You would think that I should not have to choose between the two, but it seems that I do. And, it’s not that I don’t set my alarms, I definitely do – all 10 of them.

With this duly noted, I am hoping that I will remember this the next time I have the choice between an hour (or a couple hours of sleep) or none at all. I think the choice will have to be my schedule for the next day instead of sleep.

On that note, I saw Dr. Reed this morning while I was at work. The last time he saw me outside of the journalism lab was while I was working my catering job. This morning he asked me, “You work here too? When do you have time to sleep?” Well Dr. Reed, I don’t. Not really. I couldn’t help but laugh at his question on this particular morning.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

