The Band room

When I was in high school, I spent most of my free time at the band room; especially if it was a school day. During a normal school day, I was at the band room before school started, during recess and lunch, sometimes during passing to grab a book, and after school. During the marching band season, I was there on the weekends as well. Sometimes, after the marching band season ended, my friends and I would use the band room as a meeting place.

The band room was like a second home. I could always find familiar faces there. It was a place of comfort and familiarity. Of safety.

When I graduated from high school, I didn’t think I would ever find a place that came close to what the band room was to me. Well, it took me until the spring semester of my junior year of college to find it; and until my last year to consciously realize it: the JMC lab. I didn’t think of the connection until this morning. It makes me wonder how many more “band rooms” I’ll find throughout my life. Makes me hope and wish for at least a couple more after I leave behind the J-lab.

Leave a Reply

