wonder woman

David and Bree

Not Wonder Woman, just a mom. I admire this woman for all that she’s gone through and for her outlook on life. A best friend of mine for more than 10 years: Breanna. We met in the fifth grade and have been friends ever since. Even through her move back to Nebraska when her dad retired from the military. It was so coincidental that I ended up attending college less than 30 minutes away from her home. Bree had her son, David, two and a half years ago.

I am always amazed when I hang out with Bree and David; I always wonder how I would do it if I were in her shoes. And…I just don’t know. I went with Bree and David to a Royals baseball (minor league) game tonight. And David, being in the middle of his “terrible two’s,” was his fantastic terrible-two self. (Not that I minded, I never do.) I am usually just stunned by Bree’s terrific parenting. She’s patient, and loving, and…a mom. There were numerous tantrums, lots of whining, a handful of tears, more tantrums..and more whining. Not once did she lose it. Where, I think I might have, if it were me.

On our way home from the game, I asked her how she does it. And told her that I didn’t think I would be able to. She told me, “If you had to, you could. Anyone could if they had to. It’s hard…I think it’s the hardest thing I’ll ever do.” Oh, my heart went out to her. When she had David, she put her schooling on hold, gave up most of her social life, and became a mom. But, she’s right. If I had to, I would. It’s just something I cannot fathom.

If I had a two year old, I would not be in college. My life would be completely different, as well as my goals for the near future. Although I would like to say I would go back to college, I’m not sure if I would have to guts to go back. And though I know David is her life now, part of me always grieves for what could have been for her. We never know where life will take us, right?

As with most of the single parents our age, Bree has a lot of help from her family. Heck, I don’t think anyone would be able to be a single parent without some kind of support from someone. She recently went back to school to become a Certified Nurse’s Assistant. Now, she just has to find a job.

I’m so proud of her for going back to school, for being an awesome mom, for making some awesome lemonade when life gave her some unexpected lemons.

David was NOT having it. lol.

I love them.

This also just made me think of my mom, and all the other moms out there. Amazing. Thank you for all that you do and have done.

And now that I think about it, this is something like a really belated Mother’s Day blog post. So, go make an ordinary day something special. Go do something nice for your mom and tell her you love her. She sure as heck loves you. A lot.

Leave a Reply

