and they’re off!

Today was the first day of classes for the spring 2010 semester.  For such a day of import, it was unusually ordinary.  I’m taking 18 credits this semester (I kind of cringe when I tell people this).  I have a feeling it’s going to be another one of those semesters where you get to the end, look back, and wonder how the hell you got everything done.

My schedule isn’t too bad.  I have four classes on Mondays and Wednesdays, two on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and three on Fridays.  Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays are bound to be a ball…I have Jeff three classes in a row. HAHA! =) *crosses fingers*  So I guess we’ll just see how things go this semester.

It’s amazing how fast I’ve “settled in” again.  My plane landed late yesterday afternoon.  I spent the rest of yesterday grocery shopping and unpacking.  On the way back from Walmart I told my roommate, Maris, how weird it feels to be back – not because I’m terribly homesick (unbelievably), but because it feels like I never left in the first place.  Everything here feels exactly like how it was when I left in December…with some minor differences.

I can’t believe how un-homesick I am.  I miss home, the people, the food, etc….but it’s not that gut-wrenching, depressing, black-hole-of-homesick it was when I came back last summer.  I’m rather puzzled as to why this is.  Maybe it’s because I will be seeing my family again in less than two months when they come to visit during spring break?  Maybe I am not as attached to that rock like I used to be?  Maybe my life here in Omaha was calling me?  Haha, I have no clue.  I’m content, or actually, quite happy that the semester is starting up again.  Weird.

On that note, I can’t believe it’s less than two months until spring break…until midterms!  AH!  I know that time will fly.  It seems to be passing rather quickly these days.  Where is it running to?

While I was home, I couldn’t help but notice the effects of time on my family.  My parents are getting older, more forgetful.  And stranger, unbelievably, since they are already quite strange and unique.  Oh, I love them.  And my sister.  Oh, she’s growing up.  She used to be so young!  She just renewed her permit during the winter break.  Yes, she’s driving….everyone, beware! HAHA!!!  And, we bought her junior prom dress.  Wait, she’s going to prom??!  Oh yes!  And, she looks amazing in her dress (I picked it, by the way!)!  I feel bad for her date because I’m sure he’ll be stunned.  =)  I can’t believe she’ll be graduating from high school soon.

This January also marks a year since my cousin, Karisa, was in the hospital.  We were all afraid she wouldn’t wake up…but we were wrong to doubt!  I am amazed and humbled by all the progress she’s made in the past year.  Keep it up Karisa!

Winter break was definitely a good one.  I was able to get a lot done, see a lot of people, and have a lot of fun.  I’m not sure if I’ll be home this summer, even though I want to, I might not be able to if I have class and/or an internship (hopefully!).  But, I think it was a break that will hold me until next winter if it has to.  =)

Alrighty, I’ve already have some reading to do for homework.  Time to start.  Here’s to the beginning of my last year in college!

Leave a Reply

